In just 48 hours I’m having the dreaded Carpal Tunnel Syndrome operation!  It’s such a small op but should make a huge difference to how my hands feel.  The main problem is, I’m now madly trying to get my daughter’s hat knitted before I go for the operation on Wednesday BUT with the added problem that running a shop, baking AND the pins and needles associated with Carpal Tunnel Syndrome I just don’t see that I’ll get it done.

So far Laura’s hat has been “planned” using the brilliant Anne Budd book “The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns”,

Knitter's Handy Book of Patternsthe request of “Can you knit me a hat like Rob’s with zig-zags and a pompom”, ( meaning, could I please knit a Fair Isle beanie hat), and finally using another book “200 Fair Isle Designs” by Mary Mucklestone.200 Fair Isle Designs

I love that these kind people have created such fabulous books to inspire and aid us in our own creations.  They give us a freedom yet security to create and design beyond the basic pattern.

Zac's mittsZac's Hat

One the plus side I have this past week knitted a lovely pair of mittens with adjoining i-cord and a cute little beanie for a delightful 1yr old, Zac.  Both items were knitted in Drops Merino Extra Fine.  The gloves were grey (as in the photo) and the hat was in grey with pale yellow detail.  Together they took 2 balls of grey and 1 of yellow.  I can’t wait to see what he looks like in them!

Sophies HatI also crocheted a warm pink hat with grey trim and pompom for his sister Sophie.  It was a pleasure to give the items to their mum yesterday and I know they’ll have lovely snuggly warm heads this winter.

As their mum, Hannah, takes my lovely photos for my patterns etc, I’m sure I will soon see some of Zac and Sophie in their new accessories.

Leave a Reply

