Feather & Fan Neckwarmer

DSC_0075I’ve done it.  I can’t tell you how many mistakes I made and how many times I had to rip back the odd row or two.  I just got so carried away with chatting, or watching tv that I wasn’t concentrating.  It is now finished.  It is warm.  It is snuggly.  My son thinks it’s too bright to be worn out.  Or maybe he thinks its too bright for a woman of 56 to wear in public!

So, quite simply – the pattern.

I used a beautiful, soft, hand-dyed merino dk and a 5mm hook and UK terms.

ch  – chain, tr- treble, sl st – slip stitch

The initial chain dictates how many sts you will have.  I turn and then make the chain for the first st rather than include it in the initial chain.

Chain 104sts (pattern repeat is 13sts if you want to make it wider).  Now this is the tricky par, – being careful not to twist your chain, join with a sl st to make a loop.

Foundation row:  Ch 2 (to replace first tr), work 3 tr into 4th ch from hook,( *miss 1 ch, tr in next st) rpt 5 times, miss 1 st, 4tr in next st, *4tr in next st, (miss 1 ch, tr in next st) rpt 5 times, 4tr in next st* Rpt from * to * to end of chain.  Join with sl st to top of 2ch loop.

Row 1: ch2, 1 tr in every st to end of round. (113tr)

Row 2: ch2, work 3 tr into same st.  This should be the top of 2ch loop from previous row. (Miss 1 st, tr in next st) 5 times, miss 1 st, 4tr in next st, * 4tr in next st, (miss 1st, tr in next st) rpt 5 times, miss 1 st, 4tr in next st.

Repeat these 2 rows until the desired length.  I worked 15 rows (ending with row 2), approx 17cm.

I’ll be adding some wrist-warmers with the left over yarn soon.  These will be a bit more fiddly as I will be doing some increasing and decreasing to help them fit more snuggly.

Leave a Reply

