What happens next?

The hat and the bag are now finished!  That is, apart from the felting.  Yet I can’t felt because I need to take some photos for the instructions and I can’t write the instructions because I messed up my website and need to redo all the Drops yarns and I can’t do that because it’s been the weekend and my shop has been closed so I can’t check colours and stock.

There are times when we can be just SO busy that it’s hard to really sit back and enjoy life.

Go, eat your food with gladness, and drink your wine with a joyful heart, for God has already approved what you do. Always be clothed in white, and always anoint your head with oil. Enjoy life with your wife, whom you love, all the days of this meaningless life that God has given you under the sun—all your meaningless days. For this is your lot in life and in your toilsome labor under the sun. 10 Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might, for in the realm of the dead, where you are going, there is neither working nor planning nor knowledge nor wisdom.

11 I have seen something else under the sun:

The race is not to the swift
    or the battle to the strong,
nor does food come to the wise
    or wealth to the brilliant
    or favor to the learned;
but time and chance happen to them all.

12 Moreover, no one knows when their hour will come:

As fish are caught in a cruel net,
    or birds are taken in a snare,
so people are trapped by evil times
    that fall unexpectedly upon them.

This weekend the world has been stunned by the atrocities in Paris and it has overtaken the news, overtaken other horrendous things that are happening around the world and even in our own lives.  Yet the words here in Ecclesiastes 9 remind us that no-one is exempt from time and chance.

In the grand scheme of things, my website disaster is small fry, yet for me it has stolen my time, my energy and my joy.  I have so many things I need to be getting on with quite apart from the things I want to do.  Yet I need to remind myself to enjoy life.  None of us know the time or the place when everything will change so we need to live life to the full being conscious of those our lives touch and affect.

The patterns will be written, the photographs will be taken, the felting will occur – in time.

Today, I pray your life isn’t meaningless but has a purpose.

Leave a Reply

