Is this winter?

I’m either busy or tired.  Or just plain sleepy.

The problem of short days is that once it begins to get dark I just want to curl up and go to sleep.  This has the awful result of there just not being enough hours in the days for me to do all the things I need to be doing.

Last summer some friends told me they were getting married and as well as being happy for them I was also happy for me.  A particular pattern, as in shape not design, has been in my head since I was about 8 and first saw a poster with it on.  I’ve always wanted to make a patchwork with it but decided instead to crochet the design.   Of course, when the days are long you get distracted by other things and anyway, I had 9 months to complete the project.  Now I’ve got just 4 weeks.  Last week I had 1 1/2 rows done, now I’m up to 4 rows.  I need to complete 10 in the next 4 weeks.

10 rows may not sound a lot, but each row is made up of 36 triangles, where each triangle has 3 rounds (or should that be triangles?).  Add to that the sewing in of ends, joining of triangles and then more sewing in of ends and you can see this is a time consuming project.

On the plus side, I’m actually enjoying it.  Clearly I can’t post any pics yet as the bride and groom have no idea what to expect and for the next 4 weeks I want to keep it that way.

Those who have seen the item love it.  The effect is clear, always a worry about whether your idea will work in reality.  I can’t wait to give it.

I now just have to make sure I don’t get distracted over the next couple of weeks.  If I can get it finished, then I can concentrate on a shawl pattern to wear on the big day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

