5 Shawls, 5 days

Now this seems a bit of a stretch to imagine ANYONE can knit a shawl a day for 5 days.  In essence an incredible knitter, Francoise Daney, has produced a little challenge to help demystify the making of shawls by encouraging people to knit a mini-shawl each day for 5 days working for just 30 minutes.

As my head is currently spinning with the idea of designing a lace shawl, and never having knitted a shawl, I thought this was a good place to start.

If you would like to join me, why not pop over to Aroha Knits and sign up.  Originally the challenge included a prize for keeping up.  Sadly the prize challenge is now over, but it’s still a great way to challenge yourself to sample these 5 basic shawl shapes.

If you want to join in, then why not post a comment and pic for each mini-shawl you complete.

Find some scraps of yarn, some circular (they’re just that bit more flexible for shawls) and let’s cast on.

I’ve picked up some Drops Karisma that was lying around and some 4.5mm circular needles.  I meant to pick up 4mm but hey ho…  What can I say except I make mistakes like the best of us.

Although the instructions say to work the wrong side in purl, to give a stocking stitch shawl, I’ve decided to work a garter stitch shawl as I’m aiming to make a Shetland Lace design shawl eventually and they were usually worked in garter stitch.

I love the freedom of knitting!

I’ve also decided to work a bit of a lace pattern into mine, again, because that’s what I want practice.  I treated myself to “The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting” by  Elizabeth Lovick a few months ago and like the simple lines of Mrs Montague’s Pattern found in the book so I’m going to attempt to put that pattern into the shawl.

magic shetland lace knitting

I’ve followed the Triangle Shawl pattern until I have 13 stitches between the yo.  Work the WS row and then I’m starting the row count for the pattern.  As before, all WS rows are knit.

Row 1: k3, yo, *k4, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk, k4*, yo, k1, yo, rpt from * to *, yo, k3

Row 3: k3, yo, *k4, k2tog, yo, k3, yo, ssk, k4*, yo, k1, yo, rpt from * to *, yo, k3

Row 5: k3, yo, *k4, k2tog, yo, k5, yo, ssk, k4*, yo, k1, yo, rpt from * to *, yo, k3

Row 7: k3, yo, *k6, yo, ssk, k3, k2tog,  yo, k6*, yo, k1, yo, rpt from * to *, yo, k3

Row 9: k3, yo, *k3, yo, ssk, k3, yo, ssk, k1, yo, k2tog, k3, k2tog, yo, k3*, yo, k1, yo, rpt from * to *, yo, k3

Row 11: k3, yo, *k5, yo, ssk, k3, yo, sl, k2tog, psso, yo, k3, k2tog, yo, k5*, yo, k1, yo, rpt from * to *, yo, k3

Row 13: k3, yo, *k7,  yo, ssk, k7, k2tog, yo, k7*, yo, k1, yo, rpt from * to *, yo, k3

Row 15: k3, yo,  *k2, yo, ssk, k3, k2tog, yo, k9, yo, ssk, k3, k2tog, yo,  k2*, yo, k1, yo, rpt from * to *, yo, k3

Ok, so this is as far as I’ve got today.   I’ve probably knitted for about 30 minutes but it’s taken longer than that to produce as I also had to plot the lace pattern to fit into the triangular shape of each half of the shawl AND write this blog entry.  I’m not sure the yarn and needle selection show up the lace pattern very well.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll use a 5mm needle for the work.

2016-03-29 00.16.08.jpg

I wonder what tomorrow will bring….

Leave a Reply

